“Ohio at Dusk” by Joseph Hirsch

Posted: September 22, 2012 by hirschibold in Uncategorized
Tags:

This is my first post with “WordPress” and should serve as something like my formal introduction to the “Damnation” community. I’ve had short stories published here and there, but this is my first novel, so I am naturally excited. The attached image is the cover artwork for the novel, a bang-up job by Ms.  Dominque. I intend to do the full media blitz, and have already obtained the artist’s permission to use the cover image in several banner ads at literary websites.

For those who are curious about the novel’s content, I don’t want to give too much away, but suffice it to say that the story is a hybrid of a detective procedural and a supernatural thriller, a Rust Belt Gothic tale that concerns a man who left for war as a soldier, and returned a monster.

Comments
  1. Joseph, you have me intrigued! I am myself born and raised in Rustbelt Ohio (Youngstown-Warren area), so I’m going to look into this book of yours. Whereabouts in Ohio are your from? My own Damnation book, Dark Muse, also with a splendid Dawne Dominique cover, will be out in December. Set in Chicago, though, now my adopted home.

  2. hirschibold says:

    Dave-

    I’m from further south, near Cincinnati, aka Porkopolis, or the “Nasty ‘Nati.” The last time I was in Youngstown was to cover a fight by former middleweight champion Kelly Pavlik who’s from around there. A composite of the town Ashtabula is featured in the novel, as are some other parts of northern Ohio.

    I’m not sure if you’re a fan of George Romero, but his movie “Martin” took place in Braddock, Pennsylvania, which is in the heart of the Rust Belt and really has that look of seductive decay to it. I look forward to reading “Dark Muse” as well.

Leave a Reply

