Fiona Dodwell’s The Banishing gets reviewed….

Posted: April 24, 2011 by fionasfiction in Uncategorized

“If you love mainstream horror then by all means, read the mainstream stuff – nothing wrong with that. But when you’re ready for something good off the beaten path, read this book.” -BOOK GOGGLES

Book review site, Book Goggles, gives The Banishing 4/5 and a great review:

“Intense.

If I had to sum this novel up in a word, that would be what I’d use. When I first read this book I wasn’t really aware of what I was getting myself into. I assumed that it was just another “woman against evil being” book similar to the ones that abound in the horror genre.

I have to admit, I was pretty impressed by this book. I found myself burning through the pages and finishing it within a matter of hours. I just couldn’t stop reading!

Then I got to the ending, which I won’t elaborate on for obvious spoiler reasons. I wasn’t expecting it so when the big finale happened I was taken by surprise to say the least. I have to admit that I was sad to see this end- I really hope that Fiona writes a sequel somewhere down the line since this idea is too good for just one book.

This book gave me the shivers, which is a good thing. It’s reminded me of what I used to really love about reading horror, which I hadn’t felt in a while. This just creeped me out and that’s a good thing. If you love mainstream horror then by all means, read the mainstream stuff – nothing wrong with that. But when you’re ready for something good, off the beaten path, read this book.”

Leave a Reply

