Horror and authors in movies

Posted: July 11, 2010 by suhalfwerk in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Hello all,

Before I dive into the topic of Horror and authors in movies, I would like to take a moment to introduce myself. I’m Su Halfwerk and I write paranormal romance and horror stories. Zuphreen, my horror/urban fantasy from Damnation Books was released in June. You can find out more and watch the trailer here.  Lovely cover, isn’t it?

Now, about today’s topic: Have you noticed that if the horror movie called for the hero or heroine to be isolated—without anyone calling on them, or even wondering how they are—that they were, mostly, writers? Writing, seems to be, the most suitable job for secluding a person in the wilderness and putting him/her in contact with monsters, or aliens, or ghosts, or even the occasional sadistic psychopaths.

I’m not complaining, far from it, I’m glad that we contribute to the horror genre not only with our writing, but also by being ourselves. It’s kind of empowering, if it wasn’t deadly *evil grin*

Here’s a list of movies to demonstrate my point:

Notice that 3 out of the 9 movies listed are adaptations of Stephen King’s books! What’s up with that? 😀

Here are a couple of questions to you, dear reader. Feel free to leave a comment:

Do you know of other movies that fit this theme?

Can you think of other innocent career choices that are ill-used (or well-used, depending on your point of view) in the horror genre?

Until next time,

Su

Comments
  1. Ledia Page says:

    Hmmm, I never look at it this way. I do remember a movie where an American writer had to travel to some place in Europe to write, I can’t remember her name nor the movies title, but the actress had very light green colored eyes.

    Ledia

  2. Ledia Page says:

    My bad, I meant I never looked at it this way. Another profession I can think of is Psychiatry, like in the movie you mentioned, In The Mouth Of Madness or The Fourth Kind.

    Ledia

    • suhalfwerk says:

      Ledia,

      Good point and great examples. Mental insatiability is indeed one topic that has been revisited in horror movies numerous times. Sometimes the doctor is the psycho case, others the patients are. Asylums hold indeed some dark secrets within their walls, even abandoned ones. Off the top of my head, I can add “Shutter Island” to showcase your point.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      http://www.suhalfwerk.blogspot.com/

  3. In general I think that when writers, especially horror writers, use a writer as their main character it’s a cop out. King, Lovecraft and others have put it to good use, and in doing so, in my opinion, have also turned it into another bad trope. How lame would it be if there were as many movies about actors or songs about musicians? There are plenty of other professions/jobs/lifestyles that put people at risk to monsters, aliens, ghosts or machete wielding maniacs. A tow truck driver out late at night on a lost stretch of road, the illegal immigrant that sneaks across the border of normal and into the Twilight Zone, a drunken bum the falls asleep in the oldest part of the cemetery…

  4. emerdelac says:

    I sort of agree, Banzai. The average reader/movie watcher doesn’t relate to being a writer or filmmaker. When I was in film school there were some really funny student films about the madness of making a movie that just weren’t amusing if you weren’t a filmmaker. I think authors should stretch themselves a little. Writing becomes a learning experience that way. Write what you know isn’t always the best advice.

Leave a Reply

